Back to top

Religious Studies

General Overview

In Religious Education we develop their understanding of different beliefs, cultures and ethical issues.  During this time we cover all six major religions learning both about them and from them.  Students are also challenged by looking at relevant moral and ethical issues and debating what religions say on these matters.

Key Stage 3

In Year 7 students cover a variety of topics, giving them a basic understanding of all six major religions and covering three of these religions in depth (Christianity, Islam and Sikhism).  Students develop an understanding of various religious beliefs, practises and festivals during the year.  They also complete an investigation into the topic of bravery.

In Year 8 students again cover all six major religions and cover two of these in further depth during the year (Judaism and Hinduism). Students embark on a look at key characters, including Martin Luther King and Anne Frank, studying religious beliefs and practises related to life after death and investigating five pilgrimage sites.

In Year 9 student begin their development for GCSE Religious Education.  Students cover a variety of moral and ethical topics, considering what religions say about these issues.  During the year students cover topics including Animal Rights, War & Peace and Crime & Punishment. These topics and skills are all in preparation for their future exams.

Key Stage 4

All students in Years 10 and 11 will complete, at least, a short course in AQA Religions & Life Issue.  In Year 10 students will cover religious views on Animal Rights, Early Life and Prejudice & Discrimination, in preparation for their mock exam in Year 10.

During Year 11 students will complete their final unit - Planet Earth - and then complete two further units, both of which prepare them for the exam at the end of Year 11.

The top R.E. sets will be considered for completing the full course AQA Religious Studies GCSE.  These students will study four units during year 10 and a further four units in Year 11, in preparation for two exams at the end of Year 11, to complete the full course award.

Key Stage 5

There is the opportunity to study A-Level AQA Philosophy and Ethics, which students will continue to build on their successes at GCSE, looking at Euthanasia, Abortion and a variety of other Life Issues.  They will also look at a variety of philosophical arguments covering some of the great thinkers of all time.